Sector

Sovereigns

Activities

Transportation

Type

Analytical commentary

Analysis of the recovery of air passenger transportation in Russia

In H2 2021, the Russian air passenger transportation market came as close as possible to the level recorded at the end of 2019 prior to the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic. Russian airlines transported 11 mln passengers in October 2021, which was only 1% lower than the indicator recorded for October 2019. Although November’s lockdown put a damper on the overall recovery trend, ACRA estimates that as early as the start of this year passenger traffic may reach the level of December 2019 when compared month-on-month.

In 2021, there were 111 mln air passengers, which is 13% lower than in 2019. Passenger turnover is somewhat lagging behind traffic in terms of recovery rates, but overall the performance of these indicators is similar. In 2021, the growth of COVID-19 infections did not have such a substantial impact on the rate of recovery of the air passenger transportation market as the introduction of additional restrictions. Taking this into account, ACRA assumes that if the authorities refrain from deploying additional restrictions and there are no other significant shocks for the industry in 2022, then by the end of the year the number of passengers transported by Russian air companies may reach the 2019 level, even in the event of sharp growth of the number of COVID-19 cases. Under the optimistic scenario, the Agency assumes market growth of 5–10% in real terms.

Figure 1. Recovery of passenger traffic of Russian airlines alongside average daily COVID-19 cases



Sources: ACRA based on data from the Federal Air Transport Agency, стопкоронавирус.рф

Nevertheless, in ACRA’s opinion, it is too early to speak of a complete recovery of the sector. This is because the structure of the market in terms of international and domestic flights changed during the pandemic. Prior to 2020, these segments had an almost equal market share, which fluctuated slightly depending on the economic cycle. However, in 2020–2021, the share of international flights, which were most profitable, declined to 20%. In addition, the fact that companies are maintaining rather low prices for air tickets due to strong competition in the market is slowing down the rate at which revenues recover. In ACRA’s optimistic scenario, which does not foresee any serious shocks in 2022, total revenues of air carriers may reach the pre-pandemic level by the end of the year. If new restrictions are introduced this year against the backdrop of an unfavorable epidemiological situation, and the restoration of international air transportation is delayed (or other large-scale risks for the industry are realized), then the total revenue of airlines may not fully recover until 2023–2024, according to the Agency’s forecasts.

Figure 2. Passenger traffic of Russian airlines, mln passengers


Source: ACRA based on data from the Federal Air Transport Agency

Apart from revenues, profitability has also not recovered in the air transportation market yet. It is worth noting that before the COVID-19 pandemic, the industry was on the verge of operating unprofitability. Rising inflation is pushing up airlines’ operating expenses, mainly fuel costs that represent a major share in operating expenses. The price index for jet fuel in fuel tanks at the airports of the Moscow Aviation Hub (MAH), as calculated by the St. Petersburg International Mercantile Exchange (SPIMEX), is now about a third higher than the 2019 average. Therefore, ACRA is of the opinion that profitability in the air passenger transportation segment may reach the level observed before the start of the pandemic no earlier than 2025.

Summing up, passenger traffic recovery is just the first step toward a general improvement in the situation in the air transportation market. The next step, which involves recovery of the share of international traffic, may be completed fairly quickly after the epidemiological situation improves. On the contrary, to increase profitability, airlines should demonstrate their strong commitment and take considerable efforts. Until then, the credit situation in the industry will remain tight.


Figure 3. Price index for jet fuel in fuel tanks at the airports of the MAH


Source: ACRA based on data from SPIMEX

Print version
Download PDF

Analysts

Alexander Gushchin
Director - Head of SME Ratings, Corporate Ratings Group
+7 (495) 139 04 89, ext. 121
Svetlana Panicheva
+7 (495) 139 04 80, ext. 169
We protect the personal data of users and process cookies only to personalize services. You can prevent the processing of cookies in your browser settings. Please read the terms of use of cookies on this website by clicking on more information.

Сектор

Страны

Вид деятельности

Транспорт

Тип

Аналитический комментарий

Анализ динамики восстановления пассажирских авиаперевозок в России

Во второй половине 2021 года российский рынок пассажирских авиаперевозок максимально приблизился к уровню, зафиксированному в конце 2019-го до начала пандемии коронавируса. Так, по итогам октября прошлого года российские авиакомпании перевезли 11 млн пассажиров, что лишь на 1% ниже показателя за октябрь 2019-го. Ноябрьский локдаун ослабил общий тренд на восстановление, но уже в начале этого года пассажиропоток, по оценкам АКРА, может достичь уровня декабря 2019 года при сопоставлении месяц к месяцу.

По итогам 2021 года авиакомпаниями было перевезено 111 млн пассажиров — на 13% меньше, чем в 2019 году. Пассажирооборот несколько отстает от трафика по темпам восстановления, но в целом динамика показателей схожая. В 2021 году рост заболеваемости COVID-19 не так сильно сказывался на темпах восстановления рынка пассажирских авиаперевозок, как введение дополнительных ограничительных мер. С учетом этого АКРА полагает, что даже при резком росте в январе числа заболевших COVID-19 по итогам года количество пассажиров, перевезенных российскими авиакомпаниями, может выйти на уровень 2019-го, если в текущем году не будет длительных ограничений и иных значимых для отрасли шоков. В оптимистичном сценарии Агентство допускает прирост рынка на 5–10% в натуральном выражении.

Рисунок 1. Динамика восстановления пассажиропотока российских авиаперевозчиков на фоне среднесуточного уровня заболеваемости COVID-19


Источник: АКРА по данным Росавиации, стопкоронавирус.рф

Тем не менее, по мнению АКРА, говорить о полном восстановлении отрасли пока преждевременно. Дело в том, что в ходе пандемии изменилась структура рынка в разрезе международных и внутренних перевозок. Если до 2020 года данные сегменты имели примерно равные рыночные доли с некоторыми колебаниями в рамках экономического цикла, то в 2020–2021 годах доля международных перевозок снизилась до 20%, а именно они были наиболее прибыльными. Кроме того, сохранение довольно низких цен на авиабилеты, обусловленное высокой конкуренцией на рынке, замедляет темпы восстановления выручки. В оптимистичном сценарии АКРА, предполагающем отсутствие серьезных шоков в 2022-м, совокупная выручка авиаперевозчиков по итогам года может достичь допандемийного уровня. Если же в текущем году будут введены новые ограничения на фоне неблагоприятной эпидемиологической обстановки, а восстановление международных авиаперевозок затянется (или реализуются иные масштабные для отрасли риски), то совокупная выручка авиакомпаний может полностью восстановиться не ранее 2023–2024 годов, по прогнозам Агентства.

Рисунок 2. Динамика пассажиропотока российских авиаперевозчиков по направлениям, млн пассажиров


Источник: АКРА по данным Росавиации

Помимо выручки на рынке авиаперевозок не восстановилась и рентабельность, хотя и до пандемии COVID-19 отрасль работала на грани операционной убыточности. В настоящее время рост инфляции стимулирует увеличение всех статей операционных расходов у авиакомпаний, при этом по одной из основных таких статей — по расходам на топливо — наблюдается еще более неблагоприятная для авиаперевозчиков динамика. Индекс цен топлива для реактивных двигателей в резервуарах ТЗК аэропортов Московского авиационного узла (МАУ), рассчитываемый Санкт-Петербургской Международной Товарно-сырьевой Биржей (СПбМТСБ), сейчас примерно на треть превышает средний показатель 2019 года. С учетом этого АКРА полагает, что восстановление рентабельности в сегменте пассажирских авиаперевозок до уровня, наблюдавшегося до начала пандемии, возможно не ранее 2025 года.

Итак, восстановление пассажиропотока стало лишь первым шагом к общему улучшению ситуации на рынке авиаперевозок. И если следующий этап, предполагающий нормализацию доли международных перевозок, может быть пройден в достаточно короткие сроки после улучшения эпидемиологической обстановки, то повышение рентабельности потребует от авиакомпаний существенных усилий. До этого момента ситуация с кредитоспособностью в отрасли останется напряженной.

Рисунок 3. Динамика индекса цен топлива для реактивных двигателей в резервуарах ТЗК аэропортов МАУ


Источник: АКРА по данным СПбМТСБ 

Версия для печати
Скачать PDF

Аналитики

Александр Гущин
Директор - руководитель направления среднего бизнеса, группа корпоративных рейтингов
+7 (495) 139 04 89, доб. 121
Светлана Паничева
+7 (495) 139 04 80, доб. 169
Мы защищаем персональные данные пользователей и обрабатываем Cookies только для персонализации сервисов. Запретить обработку Cookies можно в настройках Вашего браузера. Пожалуйста, ознакомьтесь с условиями использования файлов cookie на этом веб-сайте, перейдя по ссылке.