Sector

Corporates

Activities

Power & Utilities

Type

Actual commentary

Dynamics of electricity and heat generation

In July and August, a number of Russia’s power generating companies published operating and financial results for the first half of this year.

Almost all of them recorded growth in the volume of produced electricity and heat in H1 2021 compared to indicators for H1 2020 — by 0.4–14.6% and 5.4–27%, respectively.

This is due to the following factors:

  • Lower temperatures in winter 2021 and a longer heating season compared to 2020, as a result of which more heat energy was consumed;

  • This year, the beginning of summer was warmer than last year, which led to growth in electricity used by cooling equipment (fridges, air conditioners, etc.);

  • Higher consumption of power amid a gradual recovery in economic activity following the downturn triggered by limitations imposed during the coronavirus pandemic;

  • Softening of restrictions of the OPEC+ oil production cut agreement, which led to a decrease in electricity consumption by oil companies.

Table. Dynamics of operating indicators and revenue for the sample of companies in H1 2021 compared to H1 2020

COMPANY

ELECTRICITY GENERATION, kWh

DISCHARGE OF HEAT ENERGY FROM COLLECTORS,
 GCAL

REVENUE, RUB

Inter RAO Group

+14.6%

+14.7%

+18.1%

Mosenergo PJSC

+13.1%

+25%

+26.6%

OGK-2 PJSC

+0.4%

+11.7%

+10.2%

TGС-1 PJSC

+7.7%

+11,6%

+16.2%

RusHydro PJSC

-6%

+5.4%

+6.3%

Siberian Generating Company LLC

+3%

+27%

no data

En+ Group

+12%

+11%

no data

Unipro PJSC

+4.3%

+24.3%

+12.1%

T Plus PJSC

+8.6%

+15%

+12.1%

Rosenergoatom JSC

+7%

no data

no data

Note: For the sake of comparison, only data on the Russian generation of Inter RAO Group was used, and only En+ Group’s data on the power segment was used.
Sources: companies’ data, public sources, ACRA

Information on payments for electricity can be found in ACRA’s analytical commentary Payment Discipline in Russia’s Electricity Sector: End Consumers’ Debt is Growing from July 15, 2021.

The growth of production of electricity and heat had a positive impact on the revenue of generating companies — it grew by 6.3–26.6% over the reporting period, while in the first half of last year it declined. The cold weather factor mainly influences the operation of cogeneration power plans as electricity generation is forced to increase when growth in thermal capacity takes place. At the same time, a lower water level and a corresponding technological decrease in the utilization of hydroelectric power plants also lead to an increase in the utilization of thermal generation capacities and higher operating results in this segment.

Growth in the volume of electricity consumption in Russia’s Unified Energy System (UES) in the period from January to June this year (+5.2% compared to the indicator for H1 2020), as well as increased consumption of heat energy led to higher electricity prices. Prices grew by 13.4% for end users (except the population) over six months compared to the same period in 2020. These growth rates were recorded in the first pricing zone of the Wholesale Electricity and Capacity Market, which is dominated by heat energy.

Particular attention should be paid to the hydroelectric and nuclear power segments, which have their own specifics. The operational performance of RusHydro PJSC in terms of electricity generation differs from the situation in “classical” thermal generation. For H1 2020, the company posted a 32% increase in electricity generation at hydroelectric power plants due to high water content amid a general decline in electricity generation and consumption in that period, while in 2021, electricity generation declined by 6% due to a lower water content.

In the nuclear power segment, electricity generation has been steadily growing, which is directly related to the technological capabilities of nuclear power plants. The operating specifics of nuclear power plants and hydroelectric power plants is that their capacities are utilized in the first place and are not taken into account in electricity pricing.

In H1 2021, electricity consumption in the UES outpaced the level observed in the same period in 2020 (last year, the decrease in energy consumption was associated with warm weather, quarantine restrictions, and the OPEC+ agreement), as well as consumption seen in H1 2019 (a 2.3% increase).

These dynamics were facilitated by the colder winter in 2021 and the recovery of the domestic electricity industry against the backdrop of growing demand from the Russian economy. Taking into account the growth in electricity consumption in H1 2021, ACRA expects that by the end of 2021, the total volume of energy consumption may grow in comparison with both 2020 and 2019 — by up to 6% and 3%, respectively.

Summing up the above trends in the industry, it should be noted that the moderately growing demand for energy produced by Russian generating companies provides some support for the sustainability of their financial and operational performance indicators.


Print version
Download PDF

Analysts

Denis Krasnovskiy
Expert, Corporate Ratings Group
+7 (495) 139 04 80, доб. 188
Larisa Loznova
Managing Director - Head of the International Practice of Non-financial Company Ratings
+7 (495) 139-0498, доб. 171
We protect the personal data of users and process cookies only to personalize services. You can prevent the processing of cookies in your browser settings. Please read the terms of use of cookies on this website by clicking on more information.

Сектор

Корпоративный сектор

Вид деятельности

Электроэнергетика и ЖКХ

Тип

Актуальный комментарий

Динамика выработки электро- и теплоэнергии

В июле и августе ряд генерирующих компаний страны опубликовали операционные и финансовые результаты деятельности за первое полугодие.

Практически все они продемонстрировали рост объемов выработки электро- и теплоэнергии в первой половине 2021 года относительно показателей за аналогичный период 2020–го: на 0,4–14,6% и 5,4–27% соответственно.

Это объясняется следующими факторами:

  • более низкой температурой воздуха зимой 2021–го и более продолжительным отопительным сезоном по сравнению с 2020 годом, следствием чего стало увеличение объемов потребления тепловой энергии;

  • более теплым началом лета в текущем году относительно 2020–го, что привело к росту потребления электроэнергии охлаждающими приборами (холодильная техника, кондиционеры и т. д.);

  • увеличением потребления энергоресурсов на фоне постепенного восстановления экономической активности, снизившейся ранее из-за введенных во время пандемии коронавируса ограничений;

  • смягчением ограничительных мер в рамках соглашения ОПЕК+ о сокращении объемов добычи нефти, обусловивших снижение потребления электроэнергии компаниями нефтяной отрасли.

Таблица. Динамика операционных показателей и выручки по выборке компаний за шесть месяцев 2021 года к результатам за аналогичный период 2020–го

компания

Выработка электроэнергии, кВт*ч

Отпуск тепловой энергии с коллекторов,
 Гкал

выручка, руб.

Группа «Интер РАО»

+14,6%

+14,7%

+18,1%

ПАО «Мосэнерго»

+13,1%

+25%

+26,6%

ПАО «ОГК-2»

+0,4%

+11,7%

+10,2%

ПАО «ТГК-1»

+7,7%

+11,6%

+16,2%

ПАО «РусГидро»

-6%

+5,4%

+6,3%

ООО «Сибирская генерирующая компания»

+3%

+27%

н/д

En+ Group

+12%

+11%

н/д

ПАО «Юнипро»

+4,3%

+24,3%

+12,1%

ПАО «Т Плюс»

+8,6%

+15%

+12,1%

АО «Концерн Росэнергоатом»

+7%

н/д

н/д

Примечание: в целях сопоставимости показателей для Группы «Интер РАО» использованы данные только по российской генерации, для En+ Group — данные только по энергетическому сегменту.
Источник: данные компаний, открытые источники, расчеты АКРА

Информация о расчетах за электроэнергию приведена в аналитическом комментарии АКРА «Платежная дисциплина в электроэнергетическом секторе РФ: конечные потребители наращивают долг» от 15 июля 2021 года.

Рост выработки электро- и теплоэнергии положительно сказался на выручке генерирующих компаний: за отчетный период она выросла на 6,3–26,6%, тогда как в первой половине прошлого года наблюдалось ее снижение. Фактор холодной погоды в наибольшей степени влияет на работу электростанций когенерационного цикла, где при росте тепловой нагрузки вынужденно увеличивается выработка электроэнергии. При этом уменьшение водности и соответствующее технологическое снижение загрузки ГЭС также ведут к увеличению загрузки мощностей тепловой генерации и росту операционных результатов в данном сегменте.

Наращивание объемов потребления электроэнергии в Единой энергетической системе (ЕЭС) России в период с января по июнь текущего года (на 5,2% к показателю за первую половину 2020-го), а также увеличение потребления тепловой энергии привели к росту цен на электроэнергию. Для конечных потребителей (кроме населения) цены выросли за шесть месяцев на 13,4% по сравнению с тем же периодом 2020 года. Данные темпы роста зафиксированы в первой ценовой зоне оптового рынка электроэнергии и мощности (ОРЭМ), где преобладает тепловая генерация.

Особое внимание следует обратить на гидрогенерацию и атомную энергетику, которые имеют свою специфику работы. Динамика операционных результатов ПАО «РусГидро» по выработке электроэнергии отличается от ситуации в классической тепловой генерации. За шесть месяцев 2020 года компания показала рост выработки электроэнергии на ГЭС на 32% ввиду высокой водности на фоне общего падения выработки и потребления электроэнергии в тот период, тогда как в 2021 году наблюдается спад электрогенерации на 6% из-за снижения водности.

В сегменте атомной энергетики выработка электроэнергии стабильно растет, что напрямую связано с технологическими возможностями АЭС. Специфика функционирования АЭС и ГЭС заключается в том, что их мощности загружаются в первую очередь и не учитываются при формировании цены на электроэнергию.

Потребление электроэнергии в ЕЭС России за первые шесть месяцев текущего года выросло не только к показателю за тот же период 2020–го (в прошлом году снижение энергопотребления было связано с теплой погодой, карантинными ограничениями и сделкой ОПЕК+ о сокращении добычи нефти), но и по сравнению с показателем первого полугодия 2019 года (рост на 2,3%).

Подобной динамике способствовали более холодная погода зимой в 2021 году и восстановление позиций отечественной электроэнергетической отрасли на фоне растущего спроса со стороны российской экономики. Учитывая рост потребления электроэнергии в период с января по июнь, АКРА ожидает, что по итогам 2021 года совокупный объем энергопотребления может вырасти как к 2020 году, так и к 2019–му — до 6 и 3% соответственно.

Подводя итог описанным выше тенденциям в отрасли, следует отметить, что умеренно растущий спрос на энергоресурсы, производимые генерирующими компаниями РФ, оказывает определенную поддержку устойчивости их финансовых и операционных показателей. 

Версия для печати
Скачать PDF

Аналитики

Денис Красновский
Эксперт, группа корпоративных рейтингов
+7 (495) 139 04 80, доб. 188
Лариса Лознова
Управляющий директор - руководитель международной практики рейтингов нефинансовых компаний
+7 (495) 139-0498, доб. 171
Алексей Чурилов
Менеджер по внешним коммуникациям
+7 (495) 139 04 80, доб. 169
Мы защищаем персональные данные пользователей и обрабатываем Cookies только для персонализации сервисов. Запретить обработку Cookies можно в настройках Вашего браузера. Пожалуйста, ознакомьтесь с условиями использования файлов cookie на этом веб-сайте, перейдя по ссылке.