Sector

Sovereigns

Type

Actual commentary

The currencies of the largest CIS countries are directly or indirectly sensitive to declines in energy prices, but in 2020 the degree of this sensitivity changed compared to the previous period of sharp declines in prices (from mid-2014 to mid-2016). The extent to which these currencies weakened against the US dollar has declined substantially, with the exception of the Azerbaijani manat. In the case of the manat, significant reserves allowed Azerbaijan to keep its currency’s exchange rate pegged to the US dollar.

The depth of weakening of currencies generally depends on a number of reasons, including the extent to which oil prices decline, however ACRA notes a factor that most notably manifested itself in 2020. The CIS countries have improved their exchange rate regimes over the past few years: as a result of the transition to inflation targeting1, the majority of exchange rate regimes have become more flexible and the demand for and supply of national currencies are now more market-based. The latter was one of the factors that reduced the negative impact of the 2020 external shock on the economies of the CIS countries.


1 Inflation at no higher than 5% is the key target of the National Bank of Belarus’s monetary policy; the intermediate target is broad money supply. The Central Bank of the Republic of Azerbaijan’s inflation target is the range 4+/-2%; its intermediate targets are the exchange rate of the national currency, monetary supply and interest rates.

ACRA: Chart of the day. FX dynamics of individual CIS countries

CIS currencies fell less in 2020 than in previous periods of devaluation thanks to more flexible currency regimes.

Quote: average monthly rate of national currency to USD.
Source: Refinitiv Datastream

Print version
Download PDF

Analysts

Mikhail Nikolaev
Director, Sovereign and Regional Ratings Group
+7 (495) 139 04 80, ext. 179
Ilona Dmitrieva
Managing Director - Head of the Sovereign Ratings and Macroeconomic Analysis Group
+7 (495) 139 04 80, ext. 124
We protect the personal data of users and process cookies only to personalize services. You can prevent the processing of cookies in your browser settings. Please read the terms of use of cookies on this website by clicking on more information.

Гибкость валютных режимов в крупнейших экономиках СНГ смягчила негативное влияние внешних шоков в 2020 году

Валюты крупнейших стран СНГ напрямую или косвенно чувствительны к снижению цен на энергоресурсы, но в 2020 году степень этой чувствительности изменилась по сравнению с предыдущим периодом резкого падения цен (с середины 2014-го по середину 2016 года). Глубина ослабления национальных валют относительно доллара США сейчас стала существенно меньше, за исключением ситуации с азербайджанским манатом — в данном случае значительные резервы позволили стране сохранить привязку курса своей валюты к доллару США.

В целом глубина ослабления валют зависит от многих причин, в том числе от степени снижения цен на нефть, однако АКРА обращает внимание на фактор, наиболее заметно проявившийся в 2020 году. За последние годы страны СНГ усовершенствовали свои валютные режимы: вследствие перехода к инфляционному таргетированию 1 большинство валютных режимов стали более гибкими, а спрос и предложение национальных валют — более рыночными, что способствовало снижению негативного воздействия внешнего шока 2020 года на экономики стран СНГ.


1 Для Национального банка Республики Беларусь инфляция на уровне не выше 5% является основной целью денежно-кредитной политики, а промежуточным таргетом — широкая денежная масса. Для Центрального банка Азербайджанской Республики инфляционном таргетом является диапазон 4+/-2%, а промежуточными целями — курс национальной валюты, денежное предложение и процентные ставки.

АКРА: график дня. Динамика валют отдельных стран СНГ

Благодаря более гибким валютным режимам и накопленным резервам валюты стран СНГ в 2020 году упали меньше, чем в предыдущие периоды девальвации.

Курс: среднемесячный курс национальной валюты к доллару США.
Источник: Refinitiv Datastream

Вход

Забыли пароль

Регистрация

Восстановление пароля

Восстановление пароля

Termsofuse

Полное использование материалов сайта разрешается только с письменного согласия правообладателя, АКРА (АО). Частичное использование материалов сайта (не более 30% текста статьи) разрешается только при условии указания гиперссылки на непосредственный адрес материала на сайте www.acra-ratings.ru . Гиперссылка должна быть размещена в подзаголовке или в первом абзаце материала. Размер шрифта гиперссылки не должен быть меньше шрифта текста используемого материала.